4 Tips: What to do when Your Spouse is Your Co-worker

My husband and I have been married for three years now. Read my blog post, Traits on a Healthy MarriageWe dance together, serve the community together and most recently started working together. We work together for same company in the same department. Some people have said to me “I could never work with my spouse.” They wonder how we do it. I love working with my husband and we have found a way to make it work (no pun intended). 

Here are 4 Tips on what to do when your spouse is your co-worker:

1. Set clear boundaries 

We set clear boundaries that work conversations are for work and personal conversations are for home. That’s easier said then done. My husband and I make it a point that the allotted time to talk about work at home is only 30 minutes after work. From there all work conversations must cease. We do not talk about work on our days off. Our personal conversations happen during lunch breaks and the rest of the conversations are at home. This separation has worked out nicely for us. 

2. Understand you’re a team

I believe there is power in numbers. Working with my husband allows me to know that I have a teammate I can trust, I can bounce ideas off of and I know he will be honest with me. We use our strengths to build each other up. It’s funny because my weaknesses are my husband’s strengths and vice versa. We balance each other out. 

3. Have alone time

My husband and I love spending time together but we understand that we can’t be together all the time. So we make sure that there are moments during the week when we give each other space. I have a mini couch in our bedroom that I love to sit on and give myself a manicure. It’s a good moment of peace and quiet for me. My husband likes to listen to podcast and read quietly to himself in the living room. When we are having this time we understand the value of giving each other that space. 

4. Intimacy 

Alone time is good but we also make sure that we spend time together outside of work. Dating is so important to a marriage and we understand that it reconnects us. We make sure that we go out at least once a week. We also have a few mini vacations planned. We recently came back from a weekend gateway last month as a pre-birthday celebration for me. 

I love my husband. He is my best friend. I know the calling that we have on our life’s  requires us to work together. We are partners in dance, work and life. I would not change that for anything in the world.  
Liked my blog? Subscribe to me

2 thoughts on “4 Tips: What to do when Your Spouse is Your Co-worker

  1. Dawn Marie Haynes says:

    Awww!!! I love the pic!! Great blog! You both are such dedicated ministry workers & a an awesome couple. I will have to pass this blog along to friends that I know work together professionally.

    Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

