5 Signs that I’m an Introvert 

Some may not know this about me but I am a major introvert. No I’m not shy, although to some, the word shy and introvert go hand and hand. For me that is not the case. I am the complete opposite of shy. I’m very outgoing, loud and approachable. Needless to say I am an introvert. Here are 5 reasons why.

Meeting new people is awkward 

I can speak  or give a presentation in front of 300 people. In fact, I prefer events that allow me to speak to people all at once. I get nervous when I have to speak to people one on one or mingle after an event. Small talk is very cumbersome for me. I do not know what to say after,”Hi. How are you?” Talking with strangers is a struggle I have. I actively work on small talk by going to social gatherings so I can get better at it. 

I love being alone

I find solice being home alone curled up on my couch in my pajamas. I get overwhelmed being at large stimulating events. When I’m quiet and to my self people think something is wrong. There is nothing wrong with me, I’m fine. I’m the most energized when I’m by myself or with a small group of friends. 

I do not like attention

I do not like when the focus is on me. I prefer being in the background. There is something about being unseen that makes me feel secure. I know that what I’m called to do puts me in the front. The fear of being seen is an insecurity that I am actively working on.

I’ve been called an “old soul”

I observe and take in information. According to the Huffington Post, “introverts tend to think hard and analytical, which can make them seem wise.” When I was in high school and college people thought I was older than I was because of some statements I’ve made. I appeared wise to them. 

I look at the big picture

I think outside of the box. I am a creative person that can think holistically. My brain cannot function in any other way. According to Psychology Today, introverts love abstract discussion. I do not always have abstract discussions but my mind has an unorthodox way of thinking.

I do not think that there is anything wrong with being an introvert. However, in the past I have used the fact that I am an introvert as an excuse to not do certain things. I can’t let something like this hold me down. I know what my purpose is and I won’t be able to do it if I’m alone, don’t engage with strangers or if I’m in the background all the time. There is a time and place for everything. Everyday I push myself to do better.

You liked this post? Subscribe to my blog and follow me on Instagram.

Leave a Reply

