I Forgive You

One of hardest things I had to do in my life was learning how to forgive. Forgiveness is not a feeling; its an action. It’s an act that has allowed  me to move on and be stress free.

I used to hold grudges internally. When someone did or said something to me that I did not like I would act like everything is cool on the outside. But on the inside I was furious. I was raging with anger. I found out that I was stressed and anxious. The cause of my stress was holding onto this drama. I cannot be stressed over issues. Stress will not add seconds to my life. So I decided to let it go.

By letting it go, I don’t  mean that I simply walked away saying I don’t care, but I really do care. I let it go in my mind, saying to myself, “that this person hurt me but I’m alright. I’m still here, I’m still standing, I’m going to be alright. The hurt that I’m feeling, I’m going to let it go.” Our words are very powerful. What you believe is what you achieve.

After letting it go in my mind, it was time to let it go in my heart. This part was difficult for me because the person  that wronged me was someone I loved and trusted. I went to chat with that person face to face for reconciliation. I walked through all things that person did to upset me and told them I forgave them. After saying the words “I forgive you”, I felt a sense of relief.

After meeting with them face to face, I realized that I did not need to meet them to forgive them in my heart. I could have forgiven them anywhere.

There were some instances when the person that hurt me did not apologize. What if they never apologize? I can’t wait for an apology to forgive someone. Thus, I let it go in mind and heart and forgave them. I moved on with my life.

Forgiveness lifted a huge burden off my shoulders. Forgiveness is one of hardest things I had to learn how to do but it’s also one of the best decisions I made in my life.

Leave a Reply

