Ready for the New Year: Goodbye 2016

The new year is quickly approaching. Before a new year starts I clean my home  inside and out. It is a tradition in my family to start the year with a clean home. I  mop, dust and vacuum my whole place. I throw away items that are in bad shape and give the items in good shape to charity.

Not only do I toss away physical items I don’t need but I also toss away some attributes that keep me from becoming a better me. I want to start the year with a clean slate. I do not want any baggage wearing me down from 2016 to follow me to 2017. 

What attributes am I speaking of?  I’m talking about bad habits, negative thoughts and unecessary confrontation. I have decided to combat these attributes by enlisting people in my life who have are strong  in those areas. I need their wisdom to do better. I cannot do it on my own.

Goodbye Bad Habit

One bad habit I have is tardiness. I will say that I will leave at a certain time but end up leaving later than promised. My husband is good at being on time so he will help with this one. He is currently helping me leave at a responsible time by figuring out traffic and how much time it will take to get to the next destination.

Goodbye Negative Thoughts 

Negative thoughts can really impact your psyche. I tend to doubt myself. So I decided that I would change my way of thinking. For every negative thought I replace them with three positive thoughts.

Goodbye Unecessary Confrontation

I am choosing my battles. There are times when it is necessary to discuss something that someone did wrong. When I approach these situations I ask myself if what I am doing will help the situation or make it worse. If my involvement will make it worse then I wil remain silent. If my involvement will defuse the situation then I will say something.

What are somethings you will leave behind in 2016? Leave a comment below.

3 thoughts on “Ready for the New Year: Goodbye 2016

  1. Herby Saintil says:

    One thing that I will leave behind in 2016 is inconsistency. I want to stay true to what I say and that I am going to do and do it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

