5 Ways to Keep Your New Year’s Resolution

Happy New Year! Great, 2017 is finally here. During the new year many people have new year’s resolutions. The issue with these resolutions is that after a few months into the new year the path towards the resolution is completely dismantled. The idea of resolution is long forgotten. I have successfully completed my new year’s resolution for the past three years now and I want to share these tips with you. Here are 5 ways to keep your new year’s resolution.

1. Keep it simple

The simpler the resolution, the simpler is it to achieve. One of my new year’s resolution is to be more fit. It is very basic and this allows me to be creative on the steps I need to take to achieve this goal.

I created a vision board with all my goals on it to help me keep on track with my resolutions. Read my blog, 4 Tips to Build Your Vision Board, for help on creating your vision board.

2. Be realistic

I have to define the resolution. I know that I want to be more fit, but what does that mean? What does that look like? It is not enough to say, “I want to be more fit.” There needs to be something tangible to measure your success. For me, it means that I need to dedicate at least 3 days a week going to the gym. I know that this is something I can do.

3. Take it one step at a time

Rome was not built in a day, thus I have to take the resolution a step at a time. I created a chart of what I should be doing each month to be more fit. For example, I know that in order to be more fit, I have to watch what I eat and drink. I have to be realistic with myself. I hate drinking water so I will slowly build up to drinking 8 glasses a day. Therefore, in January I am committing to drinking at least 4 glasses of water a day, in February it will be 5 glasses, in March it will be 6 glasses, etc.

4. Have an accountability partner

Having a partner to help you keep on track is crucial. This partner could have similar goals as you or you could have different ones. All you need is someone to motivate you. I have my husband and friends to motivate me to keep up with my resolutions throughout the years.

5. Track your progress

Record notes of your progress on a journal, post-it notes, or an app. Tracking your progress allows you see how well you have been doing. It is also good to see what areas you need to work on. The best part about tracking the progress is when you’ve reached your goal. Seeing the hard work and dedication that you put towards the goal  is the best reward.

 

Leave a Reply

