6 Facts about Adulting that Every 20 Something Should Know

Have you ever wished that you could go back in time and be in elementary school again? It seems like life after college seems so far away and the fact that I am an adult makes me anxious. Like okay, I knew that I was an adult when I turned 18…duh. But I mean like an adult with responsibilities and bills. Welcome to adulting. The Urban Dictionary defines “adulting” as “to do grown up things and hold responsibilities such as a 9-5 job, a mortgage/rent, a car payment, or anything else that makes one think of grown ups.”

There are so many choices that we have to do when adulting. The struggle is too real. Below are the 6 Facts about Adulting that Every 20 Something Should Know.

My two hardest things to do is number 3 & 4. What is the toughest for you? Leave a comment below.

1. Cooking vs. Takeout

I find that cooking a meal is more affordable then doing take out or going out to eat all the time. This includes ordering lunch. I usually do meal prep on Sundays to plan out my meals for what I will bring to work with me. However, the temptation of ordering lunch is too real for me, thus I made a deal with myself that I would order out once a week.

2. Living check to check vs. Establishing a Savings Account

A savings account? What is that? Having money stored away to fall back on is so important. Especially when an emergency situation happens. Coming up with a system that worked for my husband and I was interesting. Trial and error came to play before we found the right one.

If you are anything like me, then you may have some ridiculous expenses on your credit card from five years ago that you are still paying off. Being in debt is not fun, establish a plan to pay off your debt. I used Surplus Financial Consultants to help me. I was able to pay off my car payment and a one major credit card.

3. Staying In vs. Going Out

I used to be able to stay up past 2 AM , wake up at 5 AM and go about my day. Now, who am I kidding? My new bedtime is at 9 PM.  I usually have to wake up early thus I do the responsible thing to get my full 8 hours of beauty sleep. Do not get me wrong, I do go out and stay out late but it is not as often as it was when I was in my early 20’s.

4. Scheduling vs. Spontaneity

Making the yearly doctor appointments is so hard. You have to schedule a whole year out, “like I do not know what I am doing tomorrow, let alone next year.” Making an appointment and sticking to it is tricky but I was able to manage. I have the Google Calendar app and on my phone this makes scheduling appointments  easy. The app has a feature where it will schedule the goal for you based off your schedule. Love it.

Make sure you still check in with your friends from time to time. As we get older with our busy schedules it gets harder to hang out with our friends.I like scheduling appointments, but I’ve learned that you cannot plan everything. Leave room for some spontaneity.

5. Married vs. Single

Thoughts that come to mind during this point of our lives, when is the right time to get married? Taking a relationship to the next level is a big deal. deciding that being single is the place to be right now is also a big deal.I have two blogs for dating advice 5 Things Women Do Wrong when Dating and 5 Dating Tips for Millennials.

6. Paying Rent vs. Paying a Mortgage

The pressure is on to move out of your parents/guardian residences.  There are many factors that go into this decision thus I would not make this decision in a haste. Make sure prior to moving out that you are financial prepared to take care of yourself. Right now my husband and I are renting but definitely plan to buy a house in the near future.

For more words of encouragement, follow me on Instagram , Twitter and YouTube.

3 thoughts on “6 Facts about Adulting that Every 20 Something Should Know

  1. Ebony says:

    Hey Cyn!
    I love this post. All of these topics are a struggle for for us 20 somethings. I find that scheduling things really works and helps me follow through with my plans.

    Great to see you doing Great work girl!! Enjoy every moment!
    -Ebony💋

    Like

Leave a Reply

